Poem: Firefly

You and I felt easy like a Sunday
Love song. Yet still unpredictable
I remember when it rained how
You turned your face to the sky
Glowing like a firefly
In the velvet night
While I laughed until I felt warm inside
Then we sat in a café
Making each cup of coffee last
As long as one of your smiles
Afterwards when you walked me home
Your eyes shone in the streetlights
And I was like a moth to a flame
Or Icarus swooping too close to the sky
Burning with desire.
I loved the sound, the feel, the taste of your name –
But water puts out the most ardent of fires
And I was alone
The next time the rain came.

Leave a Reply

