Birthday Book Haul

For my birthday I was delighted to receive quite a few books…

starter-for-ten

I loved David Nicholls’ ‘Us’ and was keen to sample some more of his work. I am a fan of ‘University Challenge’ so this seemed like the logical next step!

the-boy-who-could-see-demonsI came across this book while surfing through book trailers on YouTube (a guilty pleasure of mine) and it sounded unlike anything I’ve ever read before: a boy believes a demon is speaking to him and his psychologist, unable to convince him otherwise, begins to wonder whether he really is communicating with the paranormal.

the-secret-place

Tana French was recommended to me by an author at a writing workshop. I attended a girls’ school so the idea of a murder mystery set in one promises to be unsettling but fascinating.

shot-through-the-heart

I loved Isabelle Grey’s ‘Good Girls Don’t Die’ so I am looking forward to reading the latest novel featuring DI Grace Fisher.

queer-street

One of my favourite presents was undoubtedly a subscription to ‘Bookishly’: every month through the post I will receive some tea, pretty stationery and a surprise vintage book. This month’s book was ‘Queer Street’. There is no blurb and I can’t find much information about it on the internet, but I quite like the idea of turning to the first page with no idea of what to expect!

the-middle-class-abc

This is a very amusing book in the vein of Mather and Macartney-Snape’s ‘Social Stereotypes’ – fun to dip into and very attractively illustrated.

books-i-have-read

This notebook, aside from being extremely aesthetically pleasing, also has space to list books I have read, books I want to read and my favourite bookshops, which no doubt will come in useful.

I look forward to reading and reviewing these – please comment and tell me your thoughts if you’ve read any!

Leave a Reply

